• 114 (per year)
    Jobs created
  • $200 million

The Joy Baluch AM Bridge is an important link in the National Land Transport Network at Port Augusta, providing access across the Spencer Gulf for commuter, commercial and freight vehicles in the northern region of South Australia. It is also a key tourist connection to the Eyre Peninsula, northern South Australia and beyond.

This project involves the duplication of the bridge which will improve road safety and efficiency for all users, improve freight productivity and importantly improve the resilience of this critical road link.

It will also address the current bridge speed restrictions and safety for people walking or cycling across the bridge.

The urban design for the project will collaborate with Aboriginal groups, Port Augusta City Council and key stakeholders in the design and implementation of cultural elements to strengthen local identity, cultural respect and interpretation of place.

This project is delivered through the Port Wakefield to Port Augusta Alliance (PW2PA), a consortium of CPB Contractors, Aurecon and GHD, in alliance with the Department for Infrastructure and Transport, and is jointly funded by the Australian and South Australian Governments.

Project start:
Early 2020
Expected completion:
Late 2022
Current status: